A New Dawn

What has a beginning must have an end, but that is not the case here — well at least for now. Signing up for the HNG Internship was always an experience I wanted to live so here is to new beginnings. Flashback to the morning of Thursday, the 13th of August, 2021, when I got the email to join the Slack workspace of the HNG i8 as my desired track-Frontend. At this point, I felt the need to define my goals or more appropriately, what I intend to gain and learn during the course of the internship. Just as ambitious as the next person, I will be documenting my goals.

Firstly, as the number of participants kept increasing, I thought to myself, “…a fantastic avenue to connect with amazing and like-minded Developers nationwide”. Nationwide does not even cover the other African countries present. Prior to this internship, I also participated in the Zuri Internship, where I met and worked with amazing people and I realized it is important to build my network of contacts as well as network, after all, no man is an island.

Also, being a Chemical engineering graduate, it is important to gain essential background knowledge, a better understanding of end-users, convert Figma designs/screens to markup languages, and eventually build robust, scalable, and well-tested websites for consumers. Programming languages like HTML, CSS, and JavaScript — alongside other frameworks of CSS and JavaScript, are needed to be perfected to be able to build responsive websites. Not forgetting Git which is needed for the ease of collaborations of multiple people on a project and Figma as a tool that provides accessibility to designs, their colors and measurements. Ultimately, become an amazing Front-end developer.

Finally, master necessary interpersonal skills. Project management and Teamwork are skills applicable in a functional work environment for effective verbal and oral communication between team members who have a common interest and goal. That is, adequate interaction and communication between the Designer and the Backend developers from the Plan to the Production stage.

By:

Posted in:


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started